Video

Digital Footprint

In learning path 10 “where does your digital footprint come from” I watched this, 

which reminded me of my greatest fear about social media.  Phones that can take pictures and videos allowing anyone to capture images of people when they are not even aware of it and post it to the internet.  One such video came up on my facebook page of a girl picking her nose on the underground.  What disturbs me the most is not what she was doing (although strange that you should do that in public) but that someone took a video of her and then advertised it on the internet to be shared amongst millions.  Why would you do that?  More recently, a friend of mine took a photo when she was in the bus of two ladies sitting in front of her (back of their heads). These ladies had very distinctive haircuts and a colourful fashion sense.  She uploaded that photo to her facebook page with a sarcastic comment.  Again, why would you do that?  When I see someone aiming a phone in my direction, although they might just be watching a movie, reading a text or checking their Facebook page, I will physically turn around so my face can not be seen. I find this a real invasion of privacy that people feel they can take your photo and splash it all over the internet without your consent.  It makes me wonder should we speak out or stay silent?

As for the “Rate My Teacher” sites, i’m glad i’m going to teach Early Childhood 😉

3 thoughts on “Digital Footprint

  1. I would love to see some of the morning sessions on video of our Kindergarten, especially in the morning, we could possible use it for team training or as a way to help with the separation anxiety.
    I cannot imagine getting permission forms signed for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

