Unit Planning Troubles

studing by jerik0ne, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  jerik0ne 

Well I have been working on assignment 2 for the past week and I am finding it hard to put my thoughts in a logical order….it is frustrating. However, it seems that I am not alone in this area as you can see here   and here, which is a comfort!

There are two things that I have been thinking about:

  • Knowing what year 2 are really capable of doing in Mathematics.
  • What does the examiner want to see when marking my planning?

It’s all very well planning these lovely unit plans and lesson plans but in the real classroom things will be very different and the planning might not go as desired.  This has been the case for me on occasions in the past! However, I am a person who likes to be well prepared so I will always have a plan of some sort!

Which leads me to what the examiner expects.  I can’t help but feel that I am producing a piece of work that is moulded around what the examiner wants to see.  During my studies I have learnt that I shouldn’t be a teacher who has a fixed idea of what I think is an appropriate or correct answer (in my head) when I ask students questions, nor should I only accept the answer that I was thinking about as the correct answer.

2 thoughts on “Unit Planning Troubles

Leave a Reply

